Three Seniors Named Valedictorians of Bethany College’s Class of 2024

Bethany College proudly announces the recipients of the esteemed Oreon E. Scott Award, recognizing the students with the highest academic standing in the graduating Class of 2024. This year, the honor of Valedictorian is bestowed upon three outstanding scholars: Meti Abdella, Allison Danver, and Faith Lavezoli.
The Oreon E. Scott Award, named after a distinguished Bethany trustee and graduate of the Class of 1892, is a testament to academic excellence and dedication to scholarship. Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs Chuck Stinemetz presented the prestigious honor during the College’s commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 11.
Meti Abdella, a biology major from Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, has marked her collegiate journey with merit, service, and a steadfast commitment to public health. Aside from passing comprehensive exams with Distinction, Abdella has garnered numerous accolades for her exceptional performance both in and out of the classroom. Her receipt of the Beta Beta Beta Weimer Award and outstanding achievements in research highlight her dedication to advancing knowledge in biology. Abdella’s internships and research experiences, both locally and internationally, demonstrate her passion for addressing global health challenges. Her plans after graduation are to pursue a master’s in public health at George Washington University in hopes of positively impacting communities worldwide. Abdella’s leadership as the head of the International Student Association and her active involvement in campus organizations reflect her dedication to service and her desire to effect meaningful change.
Allison Danver, an elementary education major from East Liverpool, Ohio, has not only excelled academically but has also demonstrated leadership and devotion to her community. Her participation in the residency program and outstanding performance during her comprehensive exams with Distinction highlight her commitment to becoming an exceptional educator. Danver’s involvement in teaching at Wheeling Country Day School and her active engagement in the community underscores her passion for education and service. Danver’s post-graduate plans are to find the right home for her at an elementary school.
Faith Lavezoli, a history major from Pittsburgh, PA, has distinguished herself through her achievements and contributions to the Bethany community. Lavezoli has demonstrated a keen intellect and a deep understanding of complex historical and political issues. Her receipt of the Frank Alfred Chapman Memorial Prize for History and the Thomas R. Burns Award in History and Political Science underscores her academic prowess and dedication to scholarship. Her involvement in various campus ensembles and her participation in theatre productions exemplify her multifaceted talents and dedication to enriching campus life. Lavezoli is preparing to pursue graduate studies and a career in library sciences following graduation.
As recipients of the Oreon E. Scott Award, Abdella, Danver, and Lavezoli join a prestigious lineage of Bethany scholars who have demonstrated unparalleled greatness in their academic pursuits. Congratulations to these three seniors on this well-deserved honor. Bethany College wishes them continued success and fulfillment in all their future endeavors.