Candidates File for Seven County, Judicial and Legislative Offices

Eighteen candidates have filed for county, judicial and legislative offices that will be on the ballots at the May 14 primary election.
County races for seven offices have attracted eight candidates, while six judicial offices have five contenders and four legislative offices have five contenders.
In county races, all the candidates for partisan offices are Republicans.
Running for county commission is A. J. Thomas of 165 Highland Hills Dr., Follansbee.
Allison Cowden of 132 Parkview, Weirton, is seeking the party’s nomination for prosecuting attorney.
Richard Betty of 200 Church St., Follansbee, has filed for sheriff.
Thomas Oughton of 2248 Charles St., Wellsburg, is seeking the nomination for assessor.
Eric Freeland of 2622 Windy Hill Rd., Wellsburg is seeking election as a conservation district supervisor.
In non-partisan judicial races, two candidates have for the magistrates’ positions. They are Shannon Price of Wellsburg in Division 1 and Daniell Diserio of Wellsburg in Division 2.
In the race to fill two nonpartisan seats on the Brooke County Board of Education, only Antionette Perkins of 109 May Rd., Follansbee has filed.
In nonpartisan judicial races to serve Brooke, Hancock and Ohio counties, Joyce Dumbaugh Chernenko of Wellsburg has filed in Division 1, and Heather A. Wood of Weirton has filed in Division 2.
Candidates for four circuit judges to serve the same counties are David J. Sims of Wheeling in Division 2, Jaso A. Cuomo of Follansbee in Division 3 and Michael J. Olejasz in Division 4.
No candidates have filed to run for Division 1.
In the race for a seat in the State Senate representing Brooke, Hancock and Ohio counties as well as part of Marshall County, Ryan W. Weld of P. O. Box 123, Wellsburg, is the only candidate to date.
Brooke County is represented by three members of the House of Delegates.
Filing in District 1, which includes parts of Brooke and Hancock counties, was Pat McGeehan of 616 Florida Ave, Apt. 1, Chester.
Filing in District 2, which also includes parts of Brooke and Hancock counties, was Mark Zatezalo of 540 N. 12th St., Weirton.
Filing in District 3, which includes parts of Brooke and Ohio counties were David Cantrell of 710 Stone Shannon Rd., Wheeling, and Jimmy Willis of 2199 West Liberty Rd., Bethany.
Judicial officers and members of the board of education will be elected at the May 14 election, while winners of parties’ nominations for other offices will face each other in the November general election.
Filing for county offices can be completed at the county clerk’s office in the courthouse, while those seeking election or nomination from multi-county districts must file with the Secretary of State.
Filing will continue until Saturday, Jan. 27.
Questions may be directed to county clerk Kimberly Barbetta at 304.737.3661 or the Secretary of State at 304.558.6000.